nditiks

Just another WordPress.com site

HEARTBREAKER PART II

It was roughly four years after I saw her off to the convent, or rather since we entrusted her to mother superior to guide her through the tough vacation that she had voluntarily chosen. These were difficult years for me as highlighted in heartbreaker I.

Those years may seem short, but for me it was a lifetime. I had met some very lovely ladies who intended to shower me with unabated love, but my cardia was trapped by the love of this young lady who had vowed to keep off men and serve the almighty faithfully for the rest of her life. I spent many of those nights ravishing with dreams where she was the star. Her love could not let me sleep. Almost every night I imagined wonderful things for us, though I was sad at most dawns for the love of my life was far from my reach.

On this particular day I felt sad. I was just about to graduate from medical school with a whole life ahead of me. My mind swayed to December 8th, the day when she took her first vows, the first indication of her commitment to serve God. I felt guilty for not having made it to her on that day. I really wanted to, but sometimes once in a lifetime opportunity comes ones way. As my grandfather would have said, a wise man grabs such a chance with zeal. As Jenga once rightfully put it, I was having a time of my life in a foreign country with beautiful, wonderful and kind people like Lynnae. I was with her in spirit on the very day.

I missed her a lot. I kept on praying that God would give me the chance to be with her again, even if it was just for a day. I kept on hoping for a miracle that would rekindle my love life.

Not long later the miracle happened. What I was praying for came without any effort from my side.

I was alone in my room contemplating on the most feasible thing to do when my phone vibrated. It was a number I knew by heart, a number belonging to the person I was almost giving up on ever seeing again. It was Mwari, the most beautiful girl in the world. I took a deep breath before answering.

“Hallo.” I said calmly.

“It is me, Mwari. I need to talk to you in person urgently.” She said.

“Anytime my dear. Where are you? Where do I have the pleasure of meeting you?” I asked as my heart skipped a beat.

“I am in town. How soon can you get here?” She queried.

“In the next twenty minutes.” I answered, trying to remain calm and collected.

“Alright. Kindly give me a call when you get to the city centre.” She said as she swiftly hung up.

I could not believe my ears. Her voice was music to my soul, and the way she sounded on phone was just out of this world. I wished the conversation had gone on for a longer time. Then it hit me that I was finally going to set my eyes on my angel again. The thought excited me. I grabbed my towel and hurried to the bathroom for a ‘passport shower’ as we used to call them in high school. A moment later I brushed my teeth before picking up my brown leather jacket. I jetted out of the room loaded with a few notes, enough to cater for a three course meal for two in a five star hotel.

I got to town ten minutes later. I numbly dialed her number as adrenaline shot into action. My heart was beating rather fast, even with the bare ear one could clearly appreciate the non-pathologic gallop rhythm. I had palpitations. A cold stream of sweat ran down my armpit as I envisioned the next few minutes.

She was looking magnificent. Not even the beauty queen I described earlier in the story titled Bob’s half chance came close to what I saw. For a moment I was dumbfounded. I thought my eyes would melt at the stare of the most beautiful creature created.  I looked for a suitable word to describe her. Awesome, gorgeous, delightful, lovely and angelic were the words that came to mind, but I felt they were an understatement.

The lurching movement of her feminine thighs and the sway of her gluteus maximus caught my attention. It was an amazing scene. I ran towards her and stopped a few steps from her. I stared straight at her eyes. They were natural and very attractive. Everything about her was amazing. Her lips, cheeks, nose, hair, ears, eyebrows…. All was perfect.

Then I took a step closer. I gave her a warm tight hug after which I planted my lips on hers for what I thought was a very deep kiss. Almost everyone on the busy Moi Avenue street stopped at the rare occurrence. I ignored all the eyes that were watching and hugged her again and again. I wanted to let the whole world know that my love had finally returned. I wanted the world to witness the best moment of my life. For some reason she did not resist, she eased herself into my arms. I carried her across the street in my arms.

I took her to one of the most serene restaurants in the city. As we got in I remembered Joy. She would always bring me here whenever she needed to talk to me.

We sat at a secluded corner. The place was beautiful. The pink finish blended very well with her smart dress. The paintings that hung on the wall must have been done by a special painter. The dim lights provided a great romantic environment. The serenades completed the picture. We held hands at one moment. They were very soft. Mother superior had done a great job, at least in keeping her physical outlook on point.

She ordered for us. The meal was scrumptious. We talked as we ate; sometimes pausing to steal glances at each other. She took time to tell me how life was like within the confines of the walls of the convent. I asked a lot of questions. After all was said and done I mustered the courage to ask her why she had requested to talk to me.

“Nditiks, I have never forgotten you for the four years I have been away from you. I prayed for you every day. I felt your love for me from miles away. I don’t want you to suffer any more. I want to be beside you for the rest of my life.”

Those were the sweetest words I had ever heard. I cajoled her to whisper the lovely words to my ear. I felt so happy to an extent of feeling the elation flowing in my veins. I did not know what to say. I just looked at her plainly. From nowhere I got the words.

“Mwari, I want to wake up beside you every day. I want to spend the rest of my life loving you. I want you to be the mother of my children.”She smiled timidly.

After we had eaten I took her hand and kissed it softly. Hand in hand we walked away. For once I did something I really hated my immoral classmates for. I admitted her to my room in block B. The night was lovely. I skived discussion (Nelima kindly understood that the issues of the heart were more important than the discussion). It was one of my best nights in campus.

Over the subsequent weeks I kind of quit school. I dedicated a lot of hours to make my queen happy. She quickly adapted to life outside the convent. We made random trips to various places in the country. We visited the beaches in Mombasa, the great canyon and gorge in Hell’s gate, the vast wildlife in Nairobi national park, the beasts in Maasai Mara and of course the flamingoes in lake Nakuru, just to mention a few.

Life was blissful. Never in my life had I felt so complete and happy. I was glad to rise every morning to see her beautiful smile. Life was at its best. I was living my dream.

She loved climbing hills. We conquered Lukenya hills, Ngong and Mt Longonot with ease.

One day I decided to surprise her. I asked her to pack her warmest clothing and to prepare her climbing gear. We drove all the way to the foot of Mt Kenya. It was a very memorable moment for me. Once in a while she would hug me as we climbed up while claiming that she needed some of my warmth. Occasionally we would pause to publicly show affection. We captured the moments on camera, perhaps to show to our children if they asked about our youthful days.  I could not wait to get to the top. It was cold, but at the peak of Kenya’s largest mountain, the Nelion peak, I breathed a sigh of relief. We posed for a few photos. It was an ecstatic moment to be there.

I reached for my small bag and took out a beautiful golden ring. I raised it up for her to see. I then got to my knees, the cold snow eating right into my knee. I was just about to ask her to marry me when something very strange happened: I heard a cock crow!

Shortly afterwards I heard a rusty creak of a door. In my half asleep state I heard someone walk in.

“Wake up sleepyhead.  We don’t want you to be late for your graduation.” A soft voice said.

I recognized the voice: It was my mother. She had just ruined my best dream, just as I was about to get to the climax!

“Mum, I don’t want to wake up. I want to lie on this bed and dream about love.” I answered her.

“Son, what do you know about love?” She quizzed.

Only then did it occur to me that I knew nothing about love. It all felt so real. I wondered whether  I was in love.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “HEARTBREAKER PART II

  1. Was this a dream or a true story? the flow is great, seems so real, u really have a talent, nurture it

Leave a comment